Josh Taylor vs Teofimo Lopez - Sky Sports, ESPN+ June 10 - 10 pm ET

Josh Taylor vs Teofimo Lopez – Sky Sports, ESPN+ June 10 – 10 pm ET

The Taylor vs Lopez fight will be shown live on ESPN, ESPN Deportes, and ESPN+ at 3 a.m. BST (British Summer Time), which is 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT in the US.

Tartan or Takeover? Undefeated junior welterweight king Josh Taylor will defend his WBO and Ring Magazine titles against former lightweight kingpin Teofimo Lopez Saturday, June 10 at The Theater at Madison Square Garden.

YouTube video

Taylor-Lopez will be broadcast live on ESPN, ESPN Deportes and ESPN+ at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT.

TAYLOR VS. LOPEZ  START TIME

  • Date: Saturday, June 10
  • Time: 8 p.m. ET / 1 a.m. BST
  • Main event ringwalks (approx): 11:00 p.m. ET / 4:00 a.m. BST
  • The fight will take place at the Hulu Theater at MSG, New York.
  • The fight will be available live on ESPN+ in the U.S. In the UK, viewers can watch the fight on Sky Sports.
  • The main card is set to get underway at  8 p.m. ET / 1 a.m. BST with the main event ringwalks scheduled for 11:00 p.m. ET / 4:00 a.m. BST. These timings could change due to the length of the undercard fights.

Promoted by Top Rank, tickets go on sale Wednesday, April 12 at 12 p.m. ET and can be purchased at Ticketmaster.com.

“This is a super fight on both sides of the pond, the junior welterweight king in Josh Taylor stepping up against the young, dynamic Teofimo Lopez,” said Top Rank chairman Bob Arum. “I cannot wait for these two supreme talents to step into the Madison Square Garden ring. It’s going to be a special night.”

Taylor (19-0, 13 KOs), “The Tartan Tornado,” is the former undisputed junior welterweight champion, having collected all four major titles in a remarkable four-fight run that included wins over Ivan Baranchyk, Regis Prograis and Jose Ramirez. He debuted in the paid ranks in 2015 and captured a Commonwealth title in his second year before defeating fellow unbeaten prospect Ohara Davies via seventh-round TKO. The 32-year-old then beat former world champions Miguel Vazquez and Viktor Postol before entering the World Boxing Super Series in 2018. Taylor stopped then-undefeated contender Ryan Martin via TKO before capturing his first world title with a decision victory over Baranchyk. His wins over Prograis and Ramirez left no doubt as to the world’s supreme 140-pound practitioner. Taylor returns more than one year after his last performance, a competitive split decision nod over Jack Catterall.

Lopez (18-1, 13 KOs) is the former unified and lineal lightweight champion of the world. In December 2019, he captured the IBF title with an explosive second-round knockout of Richard Commey. The following October, he bested pound-for-pound king Vasiliy Lomachenko to win the WBA, WBO, and WBC Franchise titles. Thirteen months later, he lost the belts via shocking split decision to George Kambosos Jr. The 25-year-old then made his junior welterweight debut in August 2022 by stopping Pedro Campa in the seventh round. Last December, Lopez edged Spanish southpaw Sandor Martin by split decision. Before becoming world champion, he was the buzz of the boxing world with highlight-reel knockouts over Diego Magdaleno and Mason Menard. Lopez now has his sights set on another southpaw and hopes to become the sport’s latest two-division ruler.

YouTube video

Taylor vs Lopez  News

TAYLOR VS. LOPEZ FIGHT CARD

  •    •  Josh Taylor 139.8 lbs. vs. Teofimo Lopez 140 lbs
    (Taylor’s WBO and Ring Magazine Junior Welterweight World Titles — 12 Rounds)
    Judges: Steve Gray, Joe Pasquale and Benoit Roussel
    Referee: Michael Griffin   •   Xander Zayas 152.8 lbs vs. Ronald Cruz 152.4 lbs
    (Zayas’ NABO & NABF Junior Middleweight Titles — 8 Rounds)(ESPN+, 6:15 p.m. ET/3:15 p.m. PT)

    •    Robson Conçeicão 130.6 lbs  vs. Nicolas Polanco 130 lbs 
     (Junior Lightweight — 10 Rounds)

    •  Omar Rosario 139.2 lbs  vs. Jan Carlos Rivera 138.4 lbs 
     (Junior Welterweight— 8 Rounds)

    •  Damian Knyba 261.4 lbs vs. Helaman Olguin 256.8 lbs
     (Heavyweight — 8 Rounds)

    •   Bruce Carrington 126.8 lbs  vs. Luis Porozo 126.4 lbs 
     (Featherweight — 8 Rounds)

    •   Henry Lebron 129.2 lbs  vs. Carlos Ramos 129.6 lbs 
     (Junior Lightweight — 10 Rounds)

    * The Jamaine Ortiz-Humberto Galindo fight was canceled as Ortiz was unable to make the weight.

Date

Jun 10 2023
Expired!

Time

10:00 PM - 11:50 PM

Local Time

  • Timezone: Europe/Moscow
  • Date: Jun 11 2023
  • Time: 5:00 AM - 6:50 AM

Location

Madison Square Garden

Promoter

Top Rank Boxing
Top Rank Boxing
Website
https://twitter.com/trboxing

Boxers

X
No event found!
Load More

Leave a Comment